List of the Countries Announcing Travel Ban and Restriction from India

Spread the love

List of the Countries Announcing Travel Ban and Restriction from India

List of the Countries Announcing Travel Ban and Restriction from India

In Present time India is suffering from the disaster situation of the COVID-19. India recorded daily record numbers of more than 3 lakh per day of COVID cases and more than 1,500 to 2,000 death per day. After seen this pandemic situation most of the countries are restrict travel to India or from India. Do you know the List of the Countries Announcing Travel Ban and Restriction from India?

After stopping the international flight due to the national lockdown in March 2020, India is not started regular operations till now. But in the mission Vande Bharat, the Indian government announced bilateral pacts with various countries to ease international traveling.

India managed to establish an Air Bubble pact with 27 countries, while flights were operational to many other countries as well. But now, many countries have announced a ban on flights from India, while many have issued a travel advisory to all passengers flying in and out of India.


Here are the list of the countries who ban and restrict travel from India after a big spick in covid cases in second Wave,

1. Hong Kong

While India doesn’t have an air bubble agreement with Hong Kong, many flights were operated as part of Mission Vande Bharat to repatriate stranded Indians. However, Hong Kong has suspended all flights connecting it with India till May 3.

According to rules, all passengers who want to come to Hong Kong need to have a COVID-negative RTPCR result with them from a test done 72 hours prior to the journey.

2. United Kingdom

While earlier India announced a ban on flights from the UK due to a mutant COVID-19 strain, now UK has announced a ban on flights from India due to the rising cases and also the fact that 7 Indians have been found with the mutant COVID-19 strain.

UK has put India on the red list. Following the same, Air India has suspended all flights to/from the UK till April 30, 2021.

3. Canada

The country has banned all flights from India and Pakistan for 30 days due to the growing wave of COVID-19 cases.

Cargo flights from India and Pakistan will continue. As per data shared by the Health Ministry of Canada, half the people testing positive for the coronavirus are from India.

4. Dubai

As per the new rules, passengers, both Indians, and International who have visited India will not be allowed to enter the UAE unless they have spent 14 days in other countries.

On the same lines, Emirates announced to halt all flights from India to Dubai. However, departure flights will continue to operate and the ban will not extend to UAE citizens, diplomatic passport holders, and official delegations.

5. Pakistan

Our neighboring country, too, has decided to ban for two weeks travelers coming from India. Pakistan’s National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC) took the decision to impose a two-week ban on travel.

6. New Zealand

New Zealand was among the first nations to announce a temporary ban on travelers coming from India, including its citizens, from 11 to 28 April.

7. Iran

While there’s no regular flight service between Iran and India, Iran’s state-run IRNA news agency has reported that the country’s civil aviation agency has banned all flights to and from India and Pakistan because of the dramatic surge in coronavirus cases in the two nations.

8. Netherlands

The Netherlands has said it is suspending all passenger flights arriving from India starting Monday amid a surge in coronavirus infections in the country.

flight ban was announced on Sunday night after the Cabinet received new advice from public health agency RIVM, NL Times reported citing Infrastructure Minister Cora van Nieuwenhuizen in a letter to Parliament.

9. Australia

Australia has suspended all direct passenger flights from India until May 15, PM Scott Morrison has confirmed. The move has come to prevent more virulent coronavirus variants from entering the country following a surge in positive COVID-19 cases in the world’s second-most populous country.

10. Italy

Italy has joined other countries by imposing restrictions on travel from India to avert the spread of a COVID-19 variant as the Asian nation struggles with a surge in infections.

11. Thailand

Thailand has suspended issuing travel documents from India over concerns of imported coronavirus cases, as more venues were closed in Bangkok on Monday as part of efforts to contain the third wave of infections in the Southeast Asian nation.


List of the Countries who issued travel advisory to India


CDC in the US has formulated a slew of guidelines and recommendations for people traveling to India from the United States.

Cautioning the people against the deadly virus spread in India, the CDC recommended people to avoid traveling to India in the current situation where even fully vaccinated individuals are at risk of catching the virus.

The national health agency also added that if at all one has to travel to India, they should first get fully vaccinated against Covid-19 and upon reaching India, should follow covid safety protocols like washing hands, maintaining 6 feet distance, and wearing marks at all cost to ensure they do not contract the virus.

2. Singapore

With a large Indian diaspora, Singapore announced new safety measures on Tuesday including fewer approvals for people coming from India. All travelers from India must now isolate for seven days at a residence after spending 14 days at a dedicated facility for those serving a stay home notice.

3. Israel

Israel issued a travel advisory on Thursday warning citizens including those who have recovered from or been vaccinated against COVID-19, to refrain from traveling to India, Ukraine, Ethiopia, Brazil, South Africa, Mexico, and Turkey because of high COVID morbidity rates in the seven countries.

4. Germany

Germany has classified India, Qatar, Oman, Tunisia, and Cape Verde as new coronavirus “high incidence areas” due to the number of infections there, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI) for infectious diseases said on Friday.

People returning to Germany from high incidence areas must register with the German authorities before traveling and then quarantine on their return.

5. Maldives

The Maldives, the island nation famous among Indians for spending leisure time has joined other nations to issue a travel advisory for Indians traveling to the country for tourist activities.

As per a directive issued by the Maldivian government, they are suspending tourists traveling from India to the Maldives from staying at tourist facilities in inhabited islands. The order will be in force from April 27.

Also read these post,